Am I doing it wrong? (pitch)

Started by Ciccarello, July 08, 2014, 10:19:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ciccarello

I just started playing today and noticed some oddities with the pitch tracking I didn't understand. For reference the mic I use is my gaming headset which I use to speak to people daily so there is no chance the microphone is broken or faulty.

Now I know I am not the best singer out there, which is why I started playing this because I want to regain my old singing voice. However I noticed a lot of sporadicness with some my sung notes which appeared a little more off than just my poor singing. To test this I held a constant note throughout parts of some songs and here are 2 screenshots that represent what I am talking about.

http://puu.sh/a1UZS.png

If I am holding a constant note how can I possibly be too high for the high notes and too low for the low notes?
On the second one it is possibly my microphone was having trouble picking me up because I was holding a low note but I am in a completely silent house at 4 am. So if there is a silence threshold, I was definitely above it. Regardless however, the pitch in the middle is jumping around on a long held note.

Can anyone make sense of this please?

Smilley

The first shot can be explained by how the game's pitch detection works: there are 12 different pitches the game can detect, after which it loops; so a 12 will be rated same as a 0. This is the reason why you can sing the songs in a male voice without somebody manhandling your tender bits. Also, the game always shows your voice in relation to the closest correct pitch.
Let's say you sing at a constant "G#", that's rated as a 8 in the game.
The word "I" is an "F", meaning 5, and the syllable "without" is a "C#", meaning 1.
The closest your constant 8 comes to a 5 is being 3 above it, but because the 1 is also a 13, the closest your 8 comes to THAT is by being 5 below - as opposed to being 7 above.