Hi! I have a few questions...

Started by Cerdiar, May 28, 2014, 10:04:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cerdiar

Hi, this is my first time posting on the forums after playing this for awhile, but I'm not really any good with this (I never joined a choir class or had singing lessons), so there was a few things I was wondering...

-Can the record option on the game help me determine my vocal range (the place where I can test out if my microphone works)? I've just tested starting at medium and then going low, then going high as far as I could, so I wonder if those results are my range, or maybe I should try something else more reliable to test it out (and if so, where should I go)?

-Is it normal for my voice to sound vastly different in a recording? It sounds perfectly fine to me, but it seems to be higher in a recording, so going high for me sounds super squeaky (and really bad). That also means my low voice doesn't sound that low either.

-Is there a way can reduce mic feedback while I'm playing? I think feedback is the "wavy" kind of sound I hear when I play, it sometimes distorts my voice and is annoying; I've tried lowering volume, but it doesn't really fix the problem, as it only makes those sounds quieter, but not completely go away...

-Finally, anyone know where I can find some singing lessons or tips for me? I'm sure much of the problem with me is just that I haven't had much experience, so any videos or such will be much appreciated!

Any help at all would be awesome!

PsychicWalnut

Wow... that's a tall order of requests there.   Let's see if I can offer any help.

-As for your vocal range, it's a very difficult thing to determine.  It can change with time of day or even the temperature of the room.  You may even notice that your low range can increase when you get a cold.  I don't know of any real way to test your range other than singing and measuring as you did.